Kurdistan WATCH: Hawler Peshmerga FC wins 2017 Kurdistan League

WATCH: Hawler Peshmerga FC wins 2017 Kurdistan League
Hawler Peshmerga Football Club wins the Kurdistan League for the first time, April 20, 2017. (Photo: Kurdistan24)

ERBIL, Kurdistan Region (Kurdistan24) – Hawler Peshmerga Football Club won the Kurdistan Premier League (KPL) for the first time despite a draw with Kirkuk Football Club in the final match of the season.

The KPL is the Kurdistan Region’s top football championship which is held annually.

Fourteen clubs participated in the league during the 2016-17 season.

This year, the KPL was decided in a two-leg playoff system where the top four teams in the league competed against each other to determine the champion.

After Hawler Peshmerga’s 1-1 draw with Kirkuk, the club registered 11 points in total while Kirkuk collected nine points.

The match was played at the Hawler Peshmerga Stadium located in the town of Pirmam in Erbil Province.

Kirkuk, who came into the game needing three points to be crowned champions, opened the scoring, but Hawler Peshmerga drew level later in the match and held on to become champions.

Meanwhile, the other two teams, Sherwana FC and Nawroz, played at the Kalar Stadium in Sulaimani.

Despite a late goal by Sherwana, the 1-0 result did not help the club guarantee the second spot in the league, as Kirkuk’s standing in second was confirmed while Nawroz finished fourth.

Former champions Hawler Football Club are considered one of the best teams in the Region, winning the league three times, but they were unable to defend their crown in 2017.

The first KPL season was held in 2006-07 where Dohuk Football Club become champions.

Final Playoff Standings:

Hawler Peshmerga                11 points

Kirkuk                                   8 points

Sherwana                              8 points

Nawroz                                 6 points


Editing by Karzan Sulaivany